Fair and 5K

Wow. What a busy summer and a great Iowa State Fair!  As Emily promised in the last post, I’ll share a few of my favorite photo highlights with you as well.    

First day of the Fair: I helped plan the ribbon cutting for the Richard O. Jacobson Exhibition Center during opening ceremonies. It is an amazing facility I hope you were all able to see it during the Fair.    


Middle of the Fair:
I run myself on a pretty strict schedule during the Fair, walking the same route countless times a day. This year I made it a goal to see the Natural Resources building, one of the many things I have never seen at the Fair. Granted I was only there long enough to take a photo before my phone started ringing, I’m glad I went. If you’ve never been, you should go and see all that it has to offer.    

    


The entire Fair:
Given I spent nearly all of my time managing Fair Squares at the Fair, it warrants a photo on my highlight list. We were so busy! We sold over 21,000 treats!    



Last day of the Fair:
For the three of us, last year was the first Fair in our current positions. This is the second year in a row this exact photo was taken on the last night of the Fair. Let’s just say we look a lot better this year.    

Survivors: Allyson, H, and Emily

 

Now that we’ve got another Fair all squared away, it’s time to start planning for next year…314 days and counting! But before next August, we have a number of other events to plan, one of those being the upcoming Fairgrounds 5K!    

Sunday November 7, 2010 will mark our fourth annual Fairgrounds 5K Fun Run & Walk. I’m definitely not a runner, but I do love to walk. That’s what so great about this event- it’s for everyone! Not only do you get to see the beautiful Fairgrounds in the Fall, but you are helping raise money for renovations as well! Registration is only $20 until October 22nd and that includes a goodie bag and a long sleeve t-shirt. For more information about the race, be sure to visit the Fairgrounds 5K website.    

Thanks for attending the 2010 Non Stop Fun Iowa State Fair. We hope you had a great time. Also, please plan to join us at the Fairgrounds 5K this Fall and show your support for the Foundation.

One Response

  1. Great job with the Fair Squares! I’m really planning on getting to the fair next year, so plan lots of good things for me to look forward to.

Leave a Reply

